Double-jabbed Brits won’t have to quarantine on return from amber-list countries from 19 July

Fully vaccinated travellers from the UK will not have to quarantine on return from amber list countries from 19 July, the transport secretary Grant Shapps has announced.

“From 19 July UK residents who are fully vaccinated through the UK vaccine rollout will no longer have to self-isolate when they return to England,” Shapps told the House of Commons on 8 July.

READ City bankers see back-to-office push: ‘Clients are demanding in-person meetings’

Shapps said travellers would need to have received their second dose of a coronavirus vaccine under the UK vaccine programme at least 14 days before they travel to qualify for the exemption.

Amber-list countries include popular holiday destinations such as Belgium, Canada, China, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Jamaica, Spain, Thailand and the USA.

Under the current rules, UK travellers returning from those countries have to quarantine at home for 10 days. The government also advises against travelling to countries on the amber list.

From 19 July the requirement to quarantine will be scrapped and the government will no longer advise people against travelling to amber-list countries.

Travellers will still have to take a Covid-19 test three days before returning to England to show they are negative and another test within two days of their arrival back into the country. They will no longer have to take a third test on the eighth day after their return.

READ EU launches vaccine passport as UK prepares to update travel green list

“In essence, this means for fully vaccinated travellers the requirements for green and amber-list countries are the same,” Shapps said.

Children under 18 returning from amber-list countries will not have to isolate on their return or take a day eight test, Shapps said.

Travellers will have to show their vaccine status using either the NHS app or a letter issued to confirm they have been double-vaccinated.

“As one of the world’s most vaccinated countries we must use these advantages to restore many of the freedoms that have been necessarily lost over recent months,” Shapps added.

Travellers returning from red list countries are still required to quarantine for 10 days in a designated hotel on their return.

Countries on the red list include India, Pakistan, South Africa, Turkey and the United Arab Emirates.

To contact the author of this story with feedback or news, email James Booth

Most Related Links :
verity news now Governmental News Finance News

Source link

Back to top button